NSANZ Vision

“Every expert who uses the spoken word to present content to an audience for a fee belongs to NSANZ.”

NSANZ Mission

“NSANZ is the leading source for community, education and entrepreneurial business knowledge needed to be successful in the speaking profession.”

NSANZ Culture

“NSANZ is the leading source for community, education and entrepreneurial business knowledge needed to be successful in the speaking profession.”

NSANZ Values for 2016

SEEING THE BEST: We see the ‘glass as half full’ in terms of people and circumstances. We’re positive, solution-focused, ‘possibility-oriented’ with a willingness to develop and adapt


STRONGER TOGETHER: We’re generously supportive, gently honest, and enthusiastically encouraging with all members, affiliates and guests


MAINTAINING PROFESSIONALISM: We strive for excellence, aiming to journey with respect, trust and humility


ACCEPTING OWNERSHIP: We know that when we take responsibility, and act with integrity, we get results.

NSANZ History

The first meeting of the National Speakers Association of New Zealand was held in 1994.

The set-up of the organisation was greatly assisted by the National Speakers Association of Australia (NSAA). The Australian association in turn had been modelled upon and assisted by the more mature U.S. counterpart, the National Speakers Association. Both NSANZ and NSAA now enjoy a close relationship with the American association, as do affiliated bodies in Canada, England and Europe.

The first chapter established was in Auckland and so, by default, the New Zealand Association was also the Auckland Chapter.  At one time or another there have been chapters in Christchurch, Wellington and Palmerston North, each of which has spent some time in recess.

For current chapter activity, click on the Chapter links on the menu.

International connections

In 1998 an international association (the International Federation for Professional Speakers) was formed to link all current and future national associations under an independent umbrella structure for increased collaboration, all with equal rights www.iffps.org/history.html.
In 2009 the member nations were USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, United Kingdom, Malaysia, Singapore, South Africa, Germany and Holland, with France applying for candidate status. Also in 2009 the name of the Association was changed to Global Speakers Federation.


Robyn Pearce CSP was the 2006-2007 President of IFFPS (now the Global Speakers Federation), the first New Zealander to hold this honour.
Winston Marsh CSP
Maureen Fitzgerald
Ian Mandeno
Robyn Pearce (Auckland 2008)

Past Presidents of NSANZ

Note about this list: This is a partial and incomplete list of the Presidents of chapters and NSANZ national executive. Please tell us about any errors and omissions, for which we apologise in advance.

2015- Elias Kanaris
2013-2015 Bill James CSP
2012-2013 Roberta Budvietas
2011-2012 Sally Mabelle
2009-11 Hannah Samuel CSP (served two terms)
2007-09 Martz Witty PS (served two terms)
2006-07 Donald Jessep
2005-06 Maria Carlton
2004-2005 Karen Beard/Ann Andrews CSP
There was no separate National President before this date
2003-04 Lindsay Dawson
2002-03 Robyn Pearce CSP
2001-02 Pat Armitstread
2000-01 Lisa Cork
1999-00 Morgan McArthur
1997-98 Karen Beard
1994-95 Kim Campbell
2014-2015 Pam Martin
2013-2014 David Nottage replaced by Elias Kanaris
2012-2013 Gilly Chater
2011-2012 John Cook
2009-11 Sally Mabelle
2007-09 Bill James PS
2006-07 Linda Shaw
2005-06 Janice Davies
2015- Martz Witty
2014-2015 Roydon Gibbs
2013-2014 Colin Clapp
2012-2013 Cheryl Doig
2011-2012 Dr Rodney Ford
2010-2011 Ralph Brown
2009-10 Wendy Davie ASM
2008-09 Ralph Brown
2007-08 David Clarkson ASM
2005-07 Rodney Ford ASM
2002-04 Martz Witty PS
2014-2016 Karen Boyes CSP
2011-2012 Dave Stonyer
2009-2011 Eva Maria Salikova
2005-2006 Dave Stonyer
2004-05 John Bishop
2003-04 Wendy Betteridge
2002-03 Kim Chamberlain